The Community Development Partnership (CDP) seeks nominations from Lower Cape residents for two Awards presented annually to distinguished community members. The 15th Annual Gwen Pelletier Award for Excellence in Community Service and the 6th Annual Norm Edinberg Award for Excellence in Entrepreneurship will be presented at the CDP’s 28th Annual Meeting, held virtually on Thursday, April 22nd.

The Gwen Pelletier Award for Excellence in Community Service was created in 2005 to honor longtime former CDP Executive Director, Gwen Pelletier, for her years of service to the Lower Cape Community. The award recognizes individuals, businesses or organizations for their involvement and support for maintaining the economic diversity of the Lower Cape.

“Many individuals and organizations on the Lower Cape work to create opportunities for our low- to moderate-income neighbors,” said CDP Chief Executive Officer, Jay Coburn.  “This year we saw some of these people take extraordinary efforts to support their community during the COVID-19 pandemic. Presenting the Gwen Pelletier Award this year is an important way for us to celebrate those efforts that are such a critical part of building a stronger year-round Lower Cape community.”

The organization seeks nominations of local individuals, businesses or organizations that have:

·         Demonstrated a positive effect on the community.

·         Contributed to a program that improves the livability of the local community.

·         Demonstrated goodwill built by developing collaborative efforts with local communities and partnerships with other organizations.

·         Demonstrated thoroughness in program/project planning & implementation.

The Norm Edinberg Award for Excellence in Entrepreneurship was established in 2014 to honor the late Norm Edinberg, a longtime CDP Board Member, for his years of service to the Lower Cape business community. The Award recognizes an established Lower Cape business owner who has utilized CDP business and credit services, and who has an established community connection through social responsibility, environmental sustainability, volunteer time or financial contributions.

“Even during the pandemic small businesses and entrepreneurs proved that they are the engine of the Lower Cape economy and so many of those businesses are leaders in building a stronger community,” said Coburn.  “We are delighted to recognize a talented business owner who is invested in their employee’s success and committed to creating opportunities for their employees and our community.”

The organization is looking for Lower Cape business owners who have:

·         Used the business and credit services offered by the CDP (loans, technical assistance, training, etc.)

·         Been in business for a minimum of five years

·         Three or more full time employees (including themselves)

·         An established community connection either through social responsibility, environmental sustainability, volunteer time or financial contributions

·         A business located in Provincetown, Truro, Wellfleet, Eastham, Orleans, Brewster, Chatham or Harwich

The CDP welcomes nominations of individuals or businesses meeting the above qualifications.  Nominations should be submitted by Friday, March 19, 2021 to Britt Beedenbender at the CDP, [email protected] or 3 Main Street Mercantile, Unit 7 Eastham, MA 02642.  Nomination forms are available for download on the CDP website. Contact Britt with questions – (508) 240-7873 x25.

Past Award Winners of the Gwen Pelletier Award for Excellence in Community Service:

2019 – Andi Genser – Former Executive Director at WE CAN

2018 – John Pappalardo, Cape Cod Commercial Fisherman’s Trust

2017 – Wellfleet Preservation Hall

2016 – Florence Seldin of Chatham, retired School Superintendent, long-time CDP Board Member

2015 – Paul Ruchinskas of Brewster, retired affordable housing advocate

2014 – Jari Rapaport of Eastham, long-time CDP Board Member

2013 – Bob Murray of the Falmouth Housing Authority

2012 – Susan Lindquist of Brewster, host of This Place Matters

2011 – Lisa Brown of Wellfleet, The Haiti Project

2010 – State Senator Robert O’Leary

2009 – Mary Lou Pettit, who helped create the CDP and served on the Board for 18 years.

2008 – Christine Austin, Program Director, Homeless Prevention Council

2007 – Ted Malone of Provincetown, President, Community Housing Resource, Inc.

2006 – David Willard, Vice President, Cape Cod Five Cents Savings Bank

2005 – The award was established and presented to Gwen Pelletier

Past Award Winners of the Norm Edinberg Award for Excellence in Entrepreneurship:

2019 – The Roberts Family, Truro Vineyards and South Hollow Spirits

2018 – Chris and Virginia Smith, Cape Cod Tree and Landscape, Chatham

2017 – Laura Davis, Cosmos Catering, Provincetown

2016 – Judy Tarr, Ben & Jerry’s Scoop Shop, Eastham

2015 – Tom Boland and Jim Farley, Far Land Provisions, Provincetown

2014 – The award was established and presented to Sanette Groenewald, Karoo Restaurant, Eastham

Neither award was presented in 2020 due to safety precautions necessitated by the COVID19 pandemic.

Construction Schedule Update on Orleans, MA Wastewater Infrastructure Project Two-Week Look Ahead Starting March 1, 2021
What’s in the $1.9 Trillion House Stimulus Plan?